Skip to content

Meet Judy V.

July 11, 2011

I ran for election to general/jurisdictional conference, because I have a deep desire to help determine the future of our wonderful Church, so that it can thrive and continue to make disciples of Jesus Christ both in the U.S. and around the world. After reading “The Prayer of Jabez” recently, the idea of participating in General Conference came to my mind and wouldn’t leave. It was a perfect example of a Jabez opportunity – something way outside my normal territory, beyond my apparent abilities, and personally scary; something I could not bring about on my own, nor be able to fulfill without clinging to God every step of the way. When I was elected first seat of the laity on the Jurisdictional Delegation, I was both amazed and yet, not amazed, because of the circumstances of my entering the election in the first place. Since then, my emotions have run from elation to thankfulness to fear to trust to doubt to confidence to wonder to humility and back around again. But this I know, God chose the delegation and will work through us to fulfill the plans for our United Methodist Church.

From → Introductions

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

